Do I have to sign up for an account?
Yes. You must create an account and pay a fee to complete this course.
Is there a fee to create an account?
Yes. We charge $62.00 total for the course. You will make payment through a secure server prior to beginning the course. We do not offer refunds.
How do I create an account?
Click on the Get Started button on the homepage or the link at the top of the page.
Am I elegable for a Texas License to Carry Handgun License?
Most all questions concerning eligibility may be answered on the Texas DPS website at www.dps.texas.gov
What do I do when I complete this course?
Upon completion of this course, you will receive an email stating you have completed the online portion. Within a few days, you will receive your original LTC-101 Form in the mail stating you have completed the course. Once received, you must find a local DPS Certified License to Carry Instructor to complete the firearms proficiency.
What are the requirements for obtaining a Texas License to Carry Permit?
Texas Government Code Chapter 411, Subchapter H sets out the eligibility criteria that must be met. Applicants must be at least 21 years of age (unless active duty military) and must meet Federal qualifications to purchase a handgun. A number of factors may make individuals ineligible to obtain a license, such as: felony convictions, some misdemeanor convictions, including charges that resulted in probation or deferred adjudication; certain pending criminal charges; chemical or alcohol dependency; certain types of psychological diagnoses, and protective or restraining orders. The state eligibility requirements can be found in GC §411.172. The federal firearms disqualifiers can be found in 18 USC 44 §922.
You must also submit a completed application, pay the required fees, complete all required training and submit required supplemental forms and materials.
How do I apply for a Texas License to Carry Permit?
Applicants for an original (first-time) LTC should submit an online application, and schedule an appointment for fingerprinting. Applicants must also complete four to six hours of classroom training, pass a written examination and pass a proficiency demonstration (shooting).
Copy and paste this URL to your browser for our video: https://youtu.be/ZhOI-si-N4A
When I finish this course and complete my application to the State of Texas, how long will it take to get my license?
DPS will make every effort to issue your license within 60 days of receiving the completed application packet. If the application is incomplete or requires additional information to complete the background check, you will be notified in writing. Make sure you use a good email address to correspond with DPS.
How much does it cost to obtain a License to Carry Permit?
The standard fee for an original LTC is $40. The standard fee for a renewal of a LTC is $40. However, Texas law provides for some discounts if you meet certain special conditions. Other fees will include the fingerprint fee (usually S10.00) and range fees from your qualified firearms instructor.
If I am 20 years of age, can I still apply for my License to Carry?
Yes, however because you must attest to being 21, your application may not be submitted prior to your 21st birthday.
How long is my license valid?
Initial licenses are valid for four years. Renewal licenses are valid for five years.
Can a non-U.S. Citizen obtain a License to Carry Permit?
Yes. Subject to the requirements of federal firearms law, and if not otherwise ineligible, resident aliens and certain non-immigrant aliens who are legally present in the United States may obtain the license.
If I was conviced of DWI, am I eligable to obtain a License to Carry Permit?
DWI is classified as at least a Class B misdemeanor, and you are ineligible for a license for five years after a conviction for a Class A or Class B misdemeanor. For the purpose of determining eligibility, a conviction includes those that were dismissed after you completed probation or deferred adjudication.
What type of training is required to obtain my License to Carry Permit?
An applicant may attend LTC classroom training and demonstrate handgun proficiency (shooting) with a Texas Qualified LTC Instructor, or
An applicant may receive LTC online training (classroom only) through an Approved Online Course Provider who has been approved in Texas. After, successfully passing the online classroom portion, an applicant must attend 1-2 hours of range instruction class and demonstrate handgun proficiency (shooting) with a Texas Qualified LTC Instructor.
*Handgunlicenseonline.com is a approved online course provider for License to Carry through the State of Texas.*
Do I have to be a resident of the State of Texas to obtain a License to Carry Permit?
No. Per Texas Government Code §411.173, legal residents of another state or persons who relocate to Texas with the intent to establish residency may obtain an LTC. Those individuals must submit an application, pay the required fees, successfully complete the required training in Texas and submit all supporting documents. They also must submit form LTC-6, two passport style photos and a copy of their out of state driver license or state issued identification card. Note, however, that all LTC applicants must be legal residents of Texas or another state.
Can I review before I take the final exam?
Yes. Once you have registered and completed the payment process, simply click the "ACCOUNT" button at the top of the site page to review any module you have completed. Once you begin the exam, you will not be able to go back and review an modules.
Can I start and take a break from the course and come back later to complete it?